I’ve heard that traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) in Kentucky are assessed using the Glasgow Coma Scale. What is it?

Request Your Free Consultation

The Mayo Clinic describes the Glasgow Coma Scale as a 15-point test that is used to help medical personnel evaluate the initial severity of a brain injury. The extent to which a person can follow directions, the ability to move eyes and limbs, and coherence of speech are scored numerically. The higher the score, the milder the injury.

Following is the Glasgow Coma Scale, as presented by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:

The Glasgow Coma Scale

Eye-Opening Response

Spontaneous—open with blinking at baseline: 4 points

To verbal stimuli, command, and speech: 3 points

To pain only (not applied to face): 2 points

No response: 1 point


Verbal Response

Oriented: 5 points

Confused conversation, but able to answer questions: 4 points

Inappropriate words: 3 points

Incomprehensible speech: 2 points

No response: 1 point


Motor Response

Obeys commands for movement: 6 points

Purposeful movement to painful stimulus: 5 points

Withdraws in response to pain: 4 points

Flexion in response to pain (decorticate posturing): 3 points

Extension response in response to pain (decerebrate posturing): 2 points

No response: 1 point

Head Injury Classification

Severe Head Injury—GCS score of 8 or less

Moderate Head Injury—GCS score of 9 to 12

Mild Head Injury—GCS score of 13 to 15

A brain injury can ruin a life. If someone you love suffered a brain injury at the hands of another, contact a Kentucky brain injury lawyer at Gray and White Law. Call us at 502-210-8942 or toll free at 888-450-4456, and we’ll set up a FREE, no-obligation consultation with you.