Riding motorcycles in Kentucky can be very enjoyable. But it’s important to remember that this state does have motorcycle helmet laws.
So if you qualify for 1 or more of the following scenarios, you must make sure you’re wearing protective headgear at all times while traveling on a motorcycle:
- if you’re under the age of 21 and either operating a motorcycle or are a passenger on a motorcycle or in a sidecar attachment;
- if you have an instruction permit and are operating a motorcycle; and
- if you have a valid motorcycle license or a combination motor vehicle/motorcycle license for less than 1 year and are operating a motorcycle.
The penalties for being caught driving a motorcycle without a helmet range from a fine of $20.00 to $100.00. When Kentucky’s motorcycle helmet laws were first enacted, the fines were much stiffer.
A rider fitting any one of the above classifications who was seen not wearing headgear could expect to pay up to $500.00 and even face a 60 day license suspension. But even though the punishments are not as harsh now, that doesn’t mean the motorcycle helmet laws are taken any less seriously.
Why a Motorcycle Helmet Makes a Difference in a Motorcycle Accident
It is a fact that headgear reduces the risk of death and serious injury. According trafficsafety.org, a Crash Outcome Data Evaluation System study concluded that motorcycle helmets have a 67% success rate in protecting riders from brain injuries. Motorcyclists who ride without headgear are 3 times more likely to receive brain injuries in a motorcycle accident than those wearing helmets.
If you have been injured in an accident, discuss your legal options with a Kentucky motorcycle accident lawyer. You may be entitled to compensation for your medical expense, lost wages, and other losses.
Continue to Next Page >>